Top 5 Misunderstood Pickleball Rules

Pickleball, the fast-paced and exciting paddle sport, has captured the hearts of millions around the world. While it is relatively easy to learn and play, there are a few rules that often lead to confusion and misunderstanding among players, both new and experienced. In this blog, we will debunk the top five misunderstood pickleball rules, shedding light on their proper interpretation and application.

  1. Two-Bounce Rule

One of the fundamental rules in pickleball is the two-bounce rule. According to this rule, the ball must bounce once on each side of the net before players can engage in a volley. Many players mistakenly believe that this rule only applies during the serve. However, it is important to note that the two-bounce rule remains in effect throughout the entire rally, not just at the beginning of the point. Both teams must allow the ball to bounce once on their side before hitting it back.

  1. Kitchen Violation

The non-volley zone, commonly known as the kitchen, is an area near the net where players are not allowed to hit the ball in the air without it first bouncing. A common misconception is that players cannot step into the kitchen at any time. In reality, players are allowed to step into the kitchen as long as they do not volley the ball while inside. It is legal to enter the kitchen after hitting a groundstroke from the baseline or after the ball bounces.

  1. Faulty Serve Rule

Another misunderstood rule is the fault call on a serve. In pickleball, a serve is considered faulty if it does not clear the non-volley zone (kitchen) or lands out of bounds. Many players believe that if a serve hits the net but still lands in the proper service court, it should be replayed. However, according to the official rules, any serve that hits the net and lands within the proper service court is considered a fault, resulting in the loss of the serve.

  1. Let Serves

The concept of let serves can cause confusion for both players and spectators. A let serve occurs when the served ball touches the net but still lands in the proper service court. In this situation, the serve is replayed without any penalty or fault being called. However, it is important to note that a let serve can only occur on the initial serve attempt. If the ball touches the net on a subsequent serve attempt, it is considered a fault.

  1. Side Out vs. Point Scoring

In pickleball, the serving team can only score points. When the receiving team wins a rally, they do not receive any points but instead gain the right to serve. This concept is often misunderstood, leading to confusion about when points are awarded. It's important to remember that points are only awarded to the serving team when they win a rally. If the receiving team wins a rally, they gain the serve but do not earn any points.

Understanding the rules of any sport is crucial to ensure fair play and an enjoyable experience for all participants. In pickleball, it's important to clarify and address common misconceptions that can lead to confusion on the court. By clarifying the top five misunderstood pickleball rules, including the two-bounce rule, kitchen violations, faulty serves, let serves, and point scoring, players can enhance their knowledge and avoid unnecessary errors. Clearing up these misunderstandings will contribute to smoother gameplay, fair competition, and increased enjoyment of this fantastic sport.

Updated 6/12/23

Share This Article

Previous Article

June 12, 2023 • 2:09PM

Next Article

June 14, 2023 • 1:13PM

From Our Blog